Book One

Soaring through the skies on the backs of air whales, Trede is always on the move to avoid his dark dreams. This curse with foul consequences has always kept him alone, but now he finds himself pursued by opposing groups. The Cytech Inventors Guild wants his talent, and powerful Mystics want him outright dead. As this young man attempts to find the reason for his affliction, he discovers closer friends than he could have imagined and a glimpse of greater mysteries. Whichever way he turns, he’s drawn further into an eternal struggle for control of The Well: an ancient altar of legend thought to be the source of all life.

Echowake is the first book in a new trilogy written by John G. Stevens. Currently, the book is available via Amazon eBook and Paperback. If you’re interested in other distribution options, please join the mailing list to receive news when they become available.


“Echowake has all the makings of a great literary world.”

Amazon Reviewer

Love this book! Love the characters, description of scenery, technology, and excellent story line! Highly recommended!

Amazon Reviewer


Some things are better left undiscovered.  Powerful things, dangerous things…  Why is it we chase them with such abandon?  

This site is dedicated to the Echowake series of books written by John G. Stevens.  Echowake is a Fantasy/Steampunk novel set in a world full of powerful mystics, world-spanning adventures and the endless struggle for control of The Well: an ancient altar thought to be the source of all life’s energy.


John is a hardworking Husband and Father of three boys. He has spent most of his life on the East Coast of the US and currently resides in Southern Maine. They lived in Japan for a few years, love to travel and try to focus on what connects us all rather than what separates us. He considers the apex of all delicacies to be anything with buffalo chicken in it. Being a musician, avid reader and dabbler in Parkour gives him many avenues to pull from in his writing. A lifelong storyteller, John has always imagined worlds where there are no limits.


Sign up for my (spam-free) mailing list and receive free stories!

Yaladra & Drayle – extended epilogue from LOST IN THE LIGHT
Features audio narration by Jessica R. Maston

The Rise and Fall of the Kingdom of Gincet
A prequel short story set forty years before this trilogy.

Sign up here >>

Note:  I will also choose future preview readers from this mailing list.

You can read my next book before it’s published!